NJTV News: June 30, 2020

Government leaders are doubling down on the list of states from which travelers will be asked to quarantine. Starting Tuesday, visitors to New Jersey, New York, and Connecticut from 16 states are under a travel advisory and meet the criteria for a 14-day isolation upon arriving in the region.

As the rate of new COVID-19 infections surges across the United States, the CDC warns the virus is spreading too rapidly for the country to get it under control. The governor says New Jersey’s rate of transmission has been slowly ticking upward since reopening began. The travel advisory is part of his plan to keep it from going higher.

The latest figures show 461 new positive tests reported in New Jersey, the cumulative total is 171,667 with 47 new COVID-19 related deaths reported overnight. Total confirmed and probable deaths have now reached 15,035.

We’re in this together
For a better-informed future. Support our nonprofit newsroom.
Donate to NJ Spotlight