NJTV News: July 14, 2020

NJ Spotlight News | July 14, 2020 | Full Episodes

The number of states on New Jersey’s coronavirus quarantine travel advisory list is expanding to 22. Gov. Phil Murphy added four more states — Minnesota, New Mexico, Ohio and Wisconsin. They’re all considered hotspots for the coronavirus outbreak.  One state, Delaware, was removed. The advisory means anyone arriving in New Jersey from the list of hot spot states is expected to self-quarantine for 14 days — even residents.

New York and Connecticut are enforcing the travel advisory at airports and requiring travelers from the designated states to fill out a form with contact information and other health details or face a penalty of $2,000. But New Jersey is relying on the honor system. The travel advisory is not being enforced and Murphy said Tuesday that there are no plans to put fines in place because forcing people to comply is unconstitutional. Instead he’s “strongly suggesting” travelers in and out of New Jersey follow the advisory.

Health officials reported 423 new positive test results pushing the statewide cumulative total to 175,915. An additional 28 deaths were reported. The state’s total deaths are 15,582 confirmed and probable fatalities.