Follow Us:

Elections 2017

  • Article
  • Comments

Legislative District 8

The 8th District encompasses 20 communities in Atlantic, Burlington, and Camden counties: Berlin Borough, Eastampton, Evesham, Hainesport, Hammonton, Lumberton, Mansfield, Medford, Medford Lakes, Mount Holly, Pemberton Borough, Pemberton Township, Pine Hill, Pine Valley, Shamong, Southampton, Springfield, Waterford, Westampton, and Woodland.

A majority of those registered are not affiliated with a party. Those who have chosen a party affiliation skew the district slightly Democratic — 32 percent, versus 27 percent Republican. However, voting patterns are decidedly tilted toward the GOP.

Republican Sen. Dawn Marie Addiego of Marlton is facing Democratic challenger George Youngkin of Medford.

Assembly incumbent Joe Howarth is running on the GOP ticket with Ryan Peters of Hainesport, replacing Assemblywoman Maria Rodriguez-Gregg who withdrew from the race in late August. The Democratic ticket is composed of Joanne Schwartz of Southampton and Maryann Merlino of Waterford. Ryan Calhoun of Lumberton is running as an independent under the slogan “No Status Quo.”

Read more in Elections 2017
Corporate Supporters
Most Popular Stories