Editorial

Máire Crowe
Director of Editorial Operations
Máire Crowe has worked for publications in the United States, Ireland and Britain. She was a feature writer with The Irish Press, a columnist for The Sunday Tribune and was also its U.S.-based correspondent. She has freelanced as a researcher, writer and editor for several publications and worked on TV and radio projects. She established Natural History’s research department and later was that magazine’s managing editor.
mcrowe@njspotlight.com

Tom Johnson
Energy & Environment Writer, Founder
Tom Johnson is a journalist with more than 30 years of experience in reporting and editing at New Jersey newspapers. A veteran reporter for The Newark Star-Ledger, Johnson worked in the Statehouse and in Newark covering energy, environmental and telecommunications issues. Before that he served as editor of the Ridgewood Newspapers and a reporter and editor at the Herald-News. A recipient of many state and national journalism honors, including recognition by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency for coverage of the environment, he was a member of the Star-Ledger’s nationally award-winning business section. After leaving the Ledger in early 2009, he served as press secretary to the Daggett Campaign for Governor. He lives in Plainfield, N.J.
tjohnson@njspotlight.com

John Mooney
Education Writer, Executive Director, Founding Editor
Before founding NJ Spotlight in 2009, John Mooney covered education in New Jersey for 15 years as a reporter for The Newark Star-Ledger and The Bergen Record and as a contributing writer for The New York Times. He has won numerous state and national awards, including honors from the Education Writers Association and the American Society of News Editors. John also has spoken at conferences and other events regarding school issues facing New Jersey and the role of education journalism. He lives in Montclair, N.J.
jmooney@njspotlight.com

Colleen O’Dea
Editor at Large
A lifelong New Jersey resident, Colleen O’Dea has spent her entire career reporting news in the state, covering topics that include politics, state government, education, environment, and development. Most recently, she handled computer-assisted reporting for the Daily Record of Parsippany. Colleen has freelanced for a number of New Jersey and national publications. She has won numerous state and national journalism awards, as well as fellowships, for reporting on children and families and in social media.
colleen@njspotlight.com

John Reitmeyer
Budget & Public Finance Writer
John Reitmeyer has covered state and local government in New Jersey for more than 15 years. Prior to joining NJ Spotlight, Reitmeyer wrote about the state budget, tax policy, the pension system and campaign finance for The Record of Bergen County. He was also part of a State House team covering New Jersey’s governor, Legislature and Supreme Court. Reitmeyer has also worked at The Burlington County Times and The Press of Atlantic City. He was named one of the best state political reporters in the country in 2015 by The Washington Post’s The Fix blog. PolitickerNJ cited him for “meticulous research” in their 2014 “Year in Review” and he has won numerous New Jersey Press Association Awards for public service journalism and responsible journalism.
jreitmeyer@njspotlight.com

Lilo H. Stainton
Healthcare Writer
Lilo H. Stainton is an award-winning reporter who covered politics and public policy in New Jersey for more than a decade and later served as press secretary to Gov. Jon S. Corzine. She has also worked as a communications strategist, campaign director, and advocate for coastal protection in the wake of Hurricane Sandy.
lilo@njspotlight.com

Contributors

Caren Chesler
cchesler@gmail.com

Jon Hurdle
jonhurdle@gmail.com

Hank Kalet
hank@njspotlight.com

Mark Lagerkvist
mark@lagerkvist.net

Tara Nurin
writing@eyesontheworld.us

Meir Rinde
mrinde@njspotlight.com

Joe Tyrrell
jtyrrell@njspotlight.com