Election 2021: Legislative District 4

NJ Spotlight News | September 16, 2021 | NJ Decides 2021

The 4th District encompasses nine communities in Camden and Gloucester counties: Chesilhurst, Clementon, Gloucester Township, Laurel Springs, Lindenwold, Monroe, Pitman, Washington and Winslow.

The district leans heavily Democratic — about 44% of those who have registered to vote are Democrats, compared with about 21% Republican. Most of the rest are unaffiliated.

The 4th was a split district until the 2011 election, when its Republican assemblyman was redistricted into the neighboring 3rd District. It has been reliably blue ever since.

Democratic Sen. Fred Madden, a Washington Township man who is dean of the Gloucester County Police Academy, is facing a challenge from Republican Stephen Pakradooni Jr. of Sewell, who was an unsuccessful Assembly candidate two years ago.

Both Assembly incumbents are Democrats and they are seeking re-election. They are Paul Moriarty, a media consultant from Sewell, and Gabriela Mosquera of Blackwood. Republicans Denise Gonzalez, a Gloucester Township woman who is a former Marine and co-founder of an organization that opposes mandatory vaccinations, and Patricia Kline, an adjunct professor of business from Sewell, are opposing them. Nicholas Magner of Williamstown is the Libertarian candidate.


We’re in this together
For a better-informed future. Support our nonprofit newsroom.
Donate to NJ Spotlight