July 22, 2020 | Number of The Day
Updated list of states on COVID-19 quarantine advisory for incoming travelers to New Jersey

Back on June 24, when New Jersey advised incoming travelers from eight states with significant spread of COVID-19 to undergo a 14-day self-quarantine, officials here noted that the list of states would be updated “on a rolling basis.” Sure enough, the list doubled on July 1 and was subsequently added to. On Tuesday, New Jersey updated the list of COVID-19 quarantine states yet again, adding ten more: Alaska, Delaware, Indiana, Maryland, Missouri, Montana, North Dakota, Nebraska, Virginia, and Washington. That brings the total to 31; the others are Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, New Mexico, Nevada, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah and Wisconsin.

The criteria for putting states on the list are whether they have a positive test rate for COVID-19 higher than 10 per 100,000 residents or have a 10% or higher positivity rate over a seven-day rolling average. The public health advisory, which covers any method of transportation, also applies to Garden State residents returning from those states. Self-quarantine is supposed to be conducted at travelers’ hotels, other temporary lodging or home. In a statement accompanying the advisory, Gov. Phil Murphy said, “I strongly encourage all individuals arriving from these hotspot states to proactively get a COVID-19 test and self-quarantine.”