July 8, 2020 | Number of The Day
States added to quarantine list for incoming travel to New Jersey

It started out with eight on June 24 — the list of states that New Jersey, New York and Connecticut put on a quarantine list because of their rising rates of COVID-19 cases. Travelers from those states (Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Texas and Utah) were required to self-quarantine for 14 days from the time of last contact within the identified state. Less than a week later, another eight states were added to the list (California, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nevada and Tennessee).

On Tuesday, Gov. Phil Murphy announced that an additional three states have been put on the quarantine advisory: Delaware, Kansas and Oklahoma, bringing the total to 19. The criteria for adding a state to the list are that it has a positive test rate for COVID-19 infections higher than 10 per 100,000 residents or a 10% or higher positivity rate over a seven-day rolling average. Announcing the latest additions, Murphy said, “Several outbreaks across New Jersey are directly tied to travel from COVID-19 hotspots nationwide … I urge those arriving from one of these nineteen states to self-quarantine and get a COVID-19 test to prevent additional flareups across the state and ensure the health and safety of their fellow New Jerseyans.” The advisory also applies to New Jerseyans returning from the affected states.