October 11, 2019 | Number of The Day
New members nominated to Gateway Development Commission by Gov. Phil Murphy

The job of overseeing construction of the new Hudson Tunnel Project — if it ever gets the federal funding required to see it through — falls to an entity called the Gateway Development Commission. It has seven members, three from New Jersey, three from New York and one from Amtrak. This week, Govs. Phil Murphy of New Jersey and Andrew Cuomo of New York nominated new members to the commission. With the commission’s current chairman (Jerry Zaro) already on board from the Garden State, Murphy announced two nominees — Janine G. Bauer and Balpreet Grewal Virk. Bauer is an attorney with expertise in transportation and infrastructure law; Grewal Virk is director of Community Engagement in the Department of Population Health at Hackensack Meridian Health. The two must be confirmed by the state Senate. Cuomo noted that “Gateway is the single most important infrastructure project not only for this region but for the entire nation.”