Legislative District 8

NJ Spotlight | May 19, 2019 | Primary 2019

The 8th District encompasses 20 communities in Atlantic, Burlington, and Camden counties: Berlin Borough, Eastampton, Evesham, Hainesport, Hammonton, Lumberton, Mansfield, Medford, Medford Lakes, Mount Holly, Pemberton Borough, Pemberton Township, Pine Hill, Pine Valley, Shamong, Southampton, Springfield, Waterford, Westampton, and Woodland.

A majority of those registered are not affiliated with a party. Those who have chosen a party affiliation skew the district slightly Democratic — 32 percent versus 28 percent Republican. Still, this was a red district until earlier this year, when Sen. Dawn Marie Addiego switched parties and became a Democrat. Now it’s a split district.

There are contested primaries in both parties.

Both Republican incumbents are seeking re-election, but not together. Assemblyman Joe Howarth of Marlton lost party backing. Assemblyman Ryan Peters of Hainesport is running with Jean Stanfield of Westampton. R. Jason Huf of Lumberton is also seeking a GOP Assembly slot.

Democrat Gina LaPlaca of Lumberton is running with Mark Natale of Marlton. Johnny Bravo of Marlton is also running as a Democrat.

To learn more about the candidates in the contested Democratic primary, read Jon Hurdle’s report here.

You can find out more about the candidates in the contested Republican primary here.