Legislative District 26

NJ Spotlight | May 20, 2019 | Primary 2019

The 26th District includes 13 communities in Essex, Morris, and Passaic counties: Butler, Fairfield, Jefferson, Kinnelon, Lincoln Park, Montville, Morris Plains, North Caldwell, Parsippany, Rockaway Township, Verona, West Caldwell, and West Milford.

It is a solidly “red” district, represented for decades by GOP legislators. Republicans account for 35 percent of registered voters; 26 percent are Democrats, and most of the rest are unaffiliated.

Both Assembly members are Republicans, and both are seeking re-election: Jay Webber is a lawyer from Morris Plains and Betty Lou DeCroce is a Parsippany realtor.

The Democratic candidates are Christine Clarke of Lake Hopatcong and Laura Fortgang of Verona, who was unsuccessful in an Assembly bid in 2017.