Legislative District 24

NJ Spotlight | May 19, 2019 | Primary 2019

The northernmost legislative district in the state, the 24th covers 36 communities in Morris, Sussex, and Warren counties: Allamuchy, Andover Borough and Andover Township, Belvidere, Blairstown, Branchville, Byram, Frankford, Franklin (Warren), Fredon, Frelinghuysen, Green, Hamburg, Hampton, Hardwick, Hardyston, Hopatcong, Hope, Independence, Knowlton, Lafayette, Liberty, Montague, Mount Olive, Newton, Ogdensburg, Oxford, Sandyston, Sparta, Stanhope, Stillwater, Sussex, Vernon, Walpack, Wantage, and White Township.

Among the “reddest” districts in the state, the 24th has 40 percent of its voters registered as Republicans, 21 percent as Democrats, and almost all the rest unaffiliated.

The district is represented by Republicans and both Assemblymen are on the ballot. Incumbents F. Parker Space, the owner of Space Farms Zoo and Museum from Wantage, and Harold J. Wirths, the former state labor commissioner from Hamburg are seeking re-election.

The Democrats on the ballot are Deana Lykins of Newton and Dan Solomon Smith of Mount Olive.