Legislative District 11

NJ Spotlight | May 19, 2019 | Primary 2019

The 11th District encompasses 18 municipalities in Monmouth County: Allenhurst, Asbury Park, Colts Neck, Deal, Eatontown, Freehold Borough, Freehold Township, Interlaken, Loch Arbour, Long Branch, Neptune Borough, Neptune Township, Ocean Township, Red Bank, Shrewsbury Borough, Shrewsbury Township, Tinton Falls, and West Long Branch.

This district shifted from split to all-blue two years ago when Democrat Vin Gopal unseated Republican Jennifer Beck for the Senate seat. Registered Democrats outnumber Republicans 33 percent to 23 percent, with a plurality of voters not affiliated with a major party.

The incumbent Democratic Assembly members are Eric Houghtaling of Neptune Township and Joann Downey of Freehold Township. Both are seeking re-election.

The Republicans who filed are Michael Amoroso of Freehold and Matthew C. Woolley of Ocean Township.