Legislative District 1

NJ Spotlight | May 19, 2019 | Primary 2019

New Jersey’s 1st Legislative District is the southernmost district in the state, covering Cape May and parts of Atlantic (Corbin, Estell Manor, and Weymouth) and Cumberland (Commercial, Downe, Fairfield, Greenwich, Hopewell, Lawrence, Maurice River, Millville, Shiloh, Stow Creek, and Vineland) counties.

It is one of the few districts where some of the lawmakers are not members of the party with a majority of registered voters. Most voters in the district are unaffiliated, but of those registered, Republicans outnumber Democrats — there were about 3,200 more Republicans than Democrats as of April 30.

The district is represented by Democratic Assemblymen R. Bruce Land and Matthew Milam. Both incumbents are seeking re-election.

For the Republicans, Erik Simonsen of Cape May and Antwan McClellan of Ocean City are the candidates.

Because Jeff Van Drew won a seat in Congress, his unexpired state Senate term is on the ballot. Democrat Bob Andrzejczak, who was appointed to fill the seat, is running for the full term. Mike Testa of Vineland is the Republican seeking the Senate seat.