Legislative District 38

NJ Spotlight | May 20, 2019 | Primary 2019

The 38th District encompasses 13 communities in Bergen and Passaic counties: Bergenfield, Fair Lawn, Glen Rock, Hasbrouck Heights, Hawthorne, Lodi, Maywood, New Milford, Oradell, Paramus, River Edge, Rochelle Park, and Saddle Brook.

Voter registration is more than one-third Democratic and 21 percent Republican, with most of the rest unaffiliated. This used to be a competitive district, but the Democrats appear to have cemented their hold here.

Neither party has a contested primary.

Both freshman Democrats are seeking re-election. They are Lisa Swain of Fair Lawn and Christopher Tully of Bergenfield.

The Republican candidates are Michael A. Kazmir of Rochelle Park and Christopher DiPiazza of Paramus.