September 14, 2018 | Number of The Day
Grants awarded to nine NJ communities for economic development

Five towns and four counties in New Jersey have each been awarded $100,000 in “Innovation Challenge” grants by the state Economic Development Authority to help foster entrepreneurism and innovation.

The municipalities receiving the program’s initial grants are Atlantic City, Bridgeton, New Brunswick, Trenton and Union Township, and the winning counties are Atlantic, Camden, Monmouth and Passaic. The projects that are receiving the funding range from Atlantic City’s proposal to work with Stockton University to create a Center for Marine and Environmental Science to Monmouth County’s support of an emerging tech-cluster at Fort Monmouth.

The EDA launched the innovation challenge in June, and the program is expected to continue with additional awards in the future.