Legislative District 40

NJ Spotlight News | October 9, 2017 | Elections 2017

The 40th District includes 15 communities in Bergen, Essex, Morris, and Passaic counties: Allendale, Cedar Grove, Franklin Lakes, Ho-Ho-Kus, Little Falls, Midland Park, Pequannock, Pompton Lakes, Ridgewood, Riverdale, Totowa, Waldwick, Wayne, Woodland Park, and Wyckoff.

Voter registration is one-quarter Democrat and nearly one-third Republican, with most other district voters unaffiliated.

Only one incumbent, Assemblyman Kevin J. Rooney of Wyckoff, is seeking re-election. He is running with Christopher P. DePhillips of Wyckoff. Running for the Senate seat, which Kevin O’Toole is giving up, are Kristin M. Corrado of Totowa, having won a three-way primary for the honor.

The Democratic team of Paul Vagianos of Ridgewood and Christine Ordway of Franklin Lakes is trying again for the Assembly after a loss two years ago. The Democrat seeking the Senate seat is Thomas Duch of Wyckoff.

One independent is on the Assembly ballot: Anthony Pellechia of Wayne, running under the slogan “You Tell Me.”

We’re in this together
For a better-informed future. Support our nonprofit newsroom.
Donate to NJ Spotlight