Legislative District 38

NJ Spotlight | October 9, 2017 | Elections 2017

The 38th District encompasses 13 communities in Bergen and Passaic counties: Bergenfield, Fair Lawn, Glen Rock, Hasbrouck Heights, Hawthorne, Lodi, Maywood, New Milford, Oradell, Paramus, River Edge, Rochelle Park, and Saddle Brook.

Voter registration is more than one-third Democratic and 22 percent Republican, with most of the rest unaffiliated. The Democrats have been winning in recent years, but the elections have been relatively close.

All Democrats are seeking re-election. Sen. Bob Gordon of Fair Lawn is running with Assemblymen Timothy Eustace, a chiropractor and former mayor of Maywood, and Joseph Lagana, a lawyer from Paramus.

Kelly Landschultz of New Milford is the Republican candidate for Senate, with William Leonard of Glen Rock and Christopher B. Wolf of Saddle Brook the GOP Assembly candidates.

Also seeking an Assembly seat is Dev Goswami of Fair Lawn, running under the slogan “Independent – NJ Awakens.”