Legislative District 28

NJ Spotlight News | October 9, 2017 | Elections 2017

The 28th District covers four Essex County communities — Bloomfield, Glen Ridge, Irvington, and Nutley — and a portion of Newark.

A “blue” majority district, about 52 percent of its voters are Democrats, with only 8 percent Republican and most of the rest unaffiliated.

All the Democrats are seeking re-election. Sen. Ronald L. Rice of Newark is running with Assembly members Cleopatra Tucker, also of Newark, and Ralph Caputo, of Nutley.

The Republicans did not field a Senate candidate. Running for the Assembly are James Boydston of Bloomfield and Veronica Branch of Newark.

Green Party candidate Troy Knight-Napper of Bloomfield is challenging Rice for the Senate seat. Two other independents are running for the Assembly: Joanne Miller of Newark, under the slogan “Time for Change,” and Scott Thomas Nicastro Jr. of Bloomfield, under the slogan “A New Hope.”