Legislative District 27

NJ Spotlight | October 9, 2017 | Elections 2017

The 27th District encompasses 14 communities in Essex and Morris counties: Caldwell, Chatham Township, East Hanover, Essex Fells, Florham Park, Hanover, Harding, Livingston, Madison, Maplewood, Millburn, Roseland, South Orange, and West Orange.

The district swings “blue,” with 41 percent of voters registered as Democrats, 22 percent Republicans, and most of the rest unaffiliated.

All Democrats representing the 27th in Trenton are seeking re-election: Sen. Richard Codey of Roseland, who served two stints as governor, and Assembly members John McKeon of West Orange and Mila Jasey of South Orange.

The Republican ticket is, for Senate, Pasquale Capozzoli of Caldwell, and for Assembly, Ronald Derose of Florham Park and Angelo Tedesco Jr. of East Hanover.