Legislative District 24

NJ Spotlight | October 9, 2017 | Elections 2017

The northernmost legislative district in the state, the 24th covers 36 communities in Morris, Sussex, and Warren counties: Allamuchy, Andover Borough and Andover Township, Belvidere, Blairstown, Branchville, Byram, Frankford, Franklin (Warren), Fredon, Frelinghuysen, Green, Hamburg, Hampton, Hardwick, Hardyston, Hopatcong, Hope, Independence, Knowlton, Lafayette, Liberty, Montague, Mount Olive, Newton, Ogdensburg, Oxford, Sandyston, Sparta, Stanhope, Stillwater, Sussex, Vernon, Walpack, Wantage, and White Township.

Among the “reddest” districts in the state, the 24th has 40 percent of its voters registered as Republicans, 20 percent as Democrats, and almost all of the rest unaffiliated.

The district is represented by Republicans. Sen. Steven V. Oroho of Franklin is seeking re-election. With Assemblywoman Gail Phoebus’ decision not to run again, Assemblyman F. Parker Space, the owner of Space Farms Zoo and Museum, is running with Harold J. Wirths, the former state labor commissioner.

Democrat Jennifer Hamilton of Sparta is running for Senate, with Kate Matteson and Gina Trish, both of Blairstown, challenging for the Assembly.

A pair of Green Party candidates is also running for the Assembly: Aaron Hyndman and Kenny Collins, both of Andover.