Legislative District 20

NJ Spotlight | October 9, 2017 | Elections 2017

The 20th District covers four communities in Union County: Elizabeth, Hillside, Roselle, and Union.

This is one of a handful of districts in which Democrats are actually in the majority, outnumbering even unaffiliated voters. Almost 56 percent of those registered are Democrats and just 8 percent are Republicans.

Longtime Democratic Sen. Raymond Lesniak ran for governor, unsuccessfully, so is not on the ballot. Instead, former Assemblyman Joseph P. Cryan is seeking that spot, opposed by Republican Ashraf Hanna of Union.

Incumbent Democratic Assembly members Annette Quijano, a municipal prosecutor from Elizabeth, and Jamel Holley, who is the director of public works in Irvington, are both seeking re-election. Only one Republican, Joseph G. Aubourg of Roselle, is opposing them.