Legislative District 19

NJ Spotlight | October 9, 2017 | Elections 2017

The 19th District includes five communities in Middlesex County: Carteret, Perth Amboy, Sayreville, South Amboy, and Woodbridge.

This is a “blue” district — 44 percent of the voters are registered Democrats, 12 percent are Republicans, and most of the rest are unaffiliated.

Assemblyman John Wisniewski, a Democrat, ran for governor and so is giving up his seat. Assemblyman Craig J. Coughlin, a former South Amboy councilman and the likely Assembly Speaker next year should he be elected, is running instead with Yvonne Lopez of Keasbey as the Democratic candidates for the lower house.

Deepak Malhotra of Iselin and Amarjit K. Riar of Carteret are the Republican candidates for Assembly. Independent William Cruz of Parlin is also running, under the slogan “Quality of Life.”

Sen. Joseph Vitale of Woodbridge, also a Democrat, is running unopposed as Republican Arthur J. Rittenhouse Jr. of Sayreville withdrew from the race.