Legislative District 17

NJ Spotlight | October 9, 2017 | Elections 2017

The 17th District is made up of five municipalities in Middlesex and Somerset counties: Franklin, Milltown, New Brunswick, North Brunswick, and Piscataway.

This is a Democratic stronghold, with 44 percent of registered voters declaring for the Democratic Party and 11 percent for the Republicans. Most of the rest are unaffiliated.

All the incumbents are Democrats and all are running for re-election, having fended off primary challenges: Sen. Bob Smith of Piscataway, and Assemblymen Joseph Egan of New Brunswick and Joe Danielsen of Somerset.

The Republican slate is comprised of Daryl J. Kipnis of Franklin Township for Senate, and Robert A. Quinn and Nadine Wilkins, both of Somerset, for Assembly.

One independent is seeking an Assembly seat. Michael Habib of Somerset is running under the slogan “It’s Our Time.”