Legislative District 13

NJ Spotlight | October 9, 2017 | Elections 2017

The 13th District is made up 16 communities in Monmouth County: Aberdeen, Atlantic Highlands, Fair Haven, Hazlet, Highlands, Holmdel, Keansburg, Keyport, Little Silver, Marlboro, Middletown, Monmouth Beach, Oceanport, Rumson, Sea Bright, and Union Beach.

Voter registration is almost evenly divided between the major parties, with Republicans holding a slight advantage. Still, about 46 percent of all voters are unaffiliated. The district skews “red.”

Sen. Joseph Kyrillos, a Republican, has announced his retirement. The Assembly members, also Republicans, are Amy Handlin of Lincroft and Declan O’Scanlon of Little Silver. O’Scanlon filed for the Senate seat and Handlin is running to retain her Assembly seat with Serena DiMaso of Holmdel.

The Democrats running are Sean F. Byrnes of Middletown for the Senate seat, and Tom Giaimo of Locust and Mariel Didato of Hazlet for the Assembly spots.

Libertarian Eveline Brownstein of Rumson is also challenging for an Assembly seat.