Legislative District 11

NJ Spotlight | October 9, 2017 | Elections 2017

The 11th District encompasses 18 municipalities in Monmouth County: Allenhurst, Asbury Park, Colts Neck, Deal, Eatontown, Freehold Borough, Freehold Township, Interlaken, Loch Arbour, Long Branch, Neptune Borough, Neptune Township, Ocean Township, Red Bank, Shrewsbury Borough, Shrewsbury Township, Tinton Falls, and West Long Branch.

This district shifted from Republican to split two years ago when a pair of Democrats defeated incumbent Republican Assemblywomen. Those seats and the Senate are up this year and this is a battleground.

There are more registered Democrats than Republicans, 32 percent versus 23 percent, with a plurality of voters not affiliated with a major party.

The 11th is represented in the Senate by Republican Jennifer Beck of Red Bank and she is seeking re-election. Democrat Vin Gopal of Long Branch, who has run unsuccessfully in the district in the past, is challenging her.

Freshmen Democratic Assembly members Eric Houghtaling of Neptune Township and Joann Downey of Freehold Township are seeking re-election, and are being challenged by Republicans Robert Acerra of Oakhurst and Michael Whelan of Red Bank.