Legislative District 1

NJ Spotlight | October 9, 2017 | Elections 2017

New Jersey’s 1st Legislative District is the southernmost district in the state, covering Cape May and parts of Atlantic (Corbin, Estell Manor, and Weymouth) and Cumberland (Commercial, Downe, Fairfield, Greenwich, Hopewell, Lawrence, Maurice River, Millville, Shiloh, Stow Creek, and Vineland) counties.

It is one of the few districts where some of the lawmakers are not members of the party with a majority of registered voters. Most voters in the district are unaffiliated, but of those registered, Republicans outnumber Democrats — there were about 3,800 more Republicans than Democrats as of August 31.

In the last election, this district went fully Democratic for the first time in four years. Its current representatives are Sen. Jeff Van Drew, and Assemblymen Bob Andrzejczak and R. Bruce Land.

All the incumbents are seeking re-election. For the Republicans, Mary Gruccio of Vineland is running against Van Drew, and James Sauro of Vineland and Robert Campbell of Newport are seeking the Assembly seats.

One independent is on the ballot: Anthony Parisi Sanchez of Vineland is seeking the Senate seat, running under the slogan “Cannot Be Bought.”