Legislative District 40

NJ Spotlight | May 7, 2017 | Elections 2017

The 40th District includes 15 communities in Bergen, Essex, Morris, and Passaic counties: Allendale, Cedar Grove, Franklin Lakes, Ho-Ho-Kus, Little Falls, Midland Park, Pequannock, Pompton Lakes, Ridgewood, Riverdale, Totowa, Waldwick, Wayne, Woodland Park, and Wyckoff.

Voter registration is one quarter Democrat and nearly one third Republican, with most other district voters unaffiliated.

Only one incumbent, Assemblyman Kevin J. Rooney of Wyckoff, is seeking re-election. He is running with Christopher P. DePhillips of Wyckoff, and they face Norman M. Robertson and Joseph L. Bubba Jr., both of Wayne. Running for the Senate seat, which Kevin O’Toole is giving up, are Kristin M. Corrado of Totowa, Edward Buttimore of Cedar Grove and Paul DiGaetano, a former assemblyman from Franklin Lakes.

The Democratic team of Paul Vagianos of Ridgewood and Christine Ordway of Franklin Lakes is trying again for the Assembly after a loss two years ago and Andrea L. Brown of Pequannock has also filed. For the Senate seat, Thomas Duch of Wyckoff is unopposed.