Legislative District 36

NJ Spotlight | May 7, 2017 | Elections 2017

The 36th District includes 15 communities in Bergen and Passaic counties: Carlstadt, Cliffside Park, East Rutherford, Little Ferry, Lyndhurst, Moonachie, North Arlington, Passaic, Ridgefield, Ridgefield Park, Rutherford, South Hackensack, Teterboro, Wallington, and Wood-Ridge.

Voter registration is 38 percent Democratic and 16 percent Republican, with most other voters declaring no party affiliation.

All three Democratic incumbents are running for re-election. Sen. Paul A. Sarlo of Wood-Ridge is on the ballot with Assemblyman Gary Schaer, a Passaic councilman, and Assemblywoman Marlene Caride, a lawyer from Ridgefield.

The Republican ticket features Jeanine Ferrara of Little Ferry for Senate and Paul Passamano of Lyndhurst and Marc Marsi of Rutherford for Assembly.