Legislative District 24

NJ Spotlight | May 7, 2017 | Elections 2017

The northernmost legislative district in the state, the 24th covers 36 communities in Morris, Sussex, and Warren counties: Allamuchy, Andover Borough and Andover Township, Belvidere, Blairstown, Branchville, Byram, Frankford, Franklin (Warren), Fredon, Frelinghuysen, Green, Hamburg, Hampton, Hardwick, Hardyston, Hopatcong, Hope, Independence, Knowlton, Lafayette, Liberty, Montague, Mount Olive, Newton, Ogdensburg, Oxford, Sandyston, Sparta, Stanhope, Stillwater, Sussex, Vernon, Walpack, Wantage, and White Township.

Among the “reddest” districts in the state, the 24th has 40 percent of its voters registered as Republicans, 20 percent as Democrats, and almost all of the rest unaffiliated.

The district is represented by Republicans and has contests for the party’s Senate and Assembly spots. Sen. Steven V. Oroho of Franklin faces William J. Hayden of Branchville. With Assemblywoman Gail Phoebus’ decision not to seek re-election, Assemblyman F. Parker Space, the owner of Space Farms Zoo and Museum, is running with Harold J. Wirths, the former state labor commissioner, and they face Nathan Orr and David Atwood, both of Sparta.

Democrat Jennifer Hamilton of Sparta filed for the Senate nomination. There is a three-way race for two Assembly nods: Kate Matteson and Gina Trish, both of Blairstown, are running as a team and Michael Thomas Pirog of Flanders is also on the ballot.