Legislative District 9

NJ Spotlight | May 7, 2017 | Elections 2017

The 9th District encompasses 24 communities in Atlantic, Burlington and Ocean counties: Barnegat, Barnegat Light, Bass River, Beach Haven, Beachwood, Berkeley, Eagleswood, Galloway, Harvey Cedars, Lacey, Little Egg Harbor, Long Beach, Ocean Gate, Ocean Township, Pine Beach, Port Republic, Seaside Park, Ship Bottom, South Toms River, Stafford, Surf City, Tabernacle, Tuckerton, and Washington.

Most voters have chosen not to register with one of the major parties. Of those who have, 32 percent are Republicans and 23 percent are Democrats.
Running for re-election are all three Republican incumbents: Sen. Christopher Connors of Forked River and Assembly members Brian Rumpf, a former mayor of Little Egg Harbor, and Dianne C. Gove, a former mayor of Long Beach.

The Democrats have filed a full slate: Brian Corley White of Manahawkin for Senate and Jill Dobrowansky and Ryan Young, both also from Manahawkin, for Assembly.