Legislative District 4

NJ Spotlight | May 7, 2017 | Elections 2017

The 4th District encompasses nine communities in Camden and Gloucester counties: Chesilhurst, Clementon, Gloucester Township, Laurel Springs, Lindenwold, Monroe, Pitman, Washington, and Winslow.

The district leans heavily Democratic — about 42 percent of those who have registered to vote are Democrats, compared with about 18 percent who are Republicans. Most of the rest are unaffiliated.

The 4th District was a split district until the 2011 election, when its Republican assemblyman was redistricted into the neighboring 3rd District.

All three of the current Democratic representatives are seeking re-election: Sen. Fred Madden of Sewell and Assembly members Paul Moriarty of Sewell and Gabriela Mosquera of Blackwood.

The Republican party is fielding Michael Pascetta of Sewell for Senate and Patricia Jefferson Kline of Sicklerville and Eduardo J. Maldonado of Winslow for Assembly.