Legislative District 20

NJ Spotlight | May 7, 2017 | Elections 2017

The 20th District covers four communities in Union County: Elizabeth, Hillside, Roselle, and Union.

This is one of a handful of districts in which Democrats are actually in the majority, outnumbering even unaffiliated voters. Almost 54 percent of those registered are Democrats and just 7 percent are Republicans.

Longtime Democratic Sen. Raymond Lesniak is running for governor so is not on this ballot. Instead, former Assemblyman Joseph P. Cryan is seeking that spot. Incumbent Democratic Assembly members Annette Quijano, a municipal prosecutor from Elizabeth, and Jamel Holley, who is the director of public works in Irvington, are both seeking re-election and facing challenge from Ieesha Turnage of Roselle.

The Republican slate includes Ashraf Hanna of Union for Senate and Michael Barrett of Hillside and Joseph G. Aubourg of Roselle for Assembly.