Legislative District 18

NJ Spotlight | May 7, 2017 | Elections 2017

The 18th District includes seven communities in Middlesex County: East Brunswick, Edison, Helmetta, Highland Park, Metuchen, South Plainfield, and South River.

This has been considered a safe Democratic district, with 41 percent of voters registered as Democrats and only 15 percent Republicans. Virtually all of the other voters in the district are unaffiliated.

Three Democrats represent the district and all are seeking re-election: Sen. Patrick Diegnan Jr., a South Plainfield attorney, and Assemblywoman Nancy Pinkin, a former East Brunswick councilwoman, and Robert Karabinchak of Edison.

The Republican slate consists of Mark Csizmar of East Brunswick for Senate and Lewis Glogower of South River and Brian Li of East Brunswick.