Legislative District 16

NJ Spotlight | May 7, 2017 | Elections 2017

The 16th District includes 14 communities in Hunterdon, Mercer, Middlesex, and Somerset counties: Branchburg, Delaware, Flemington, Hillsborough, Manville, Millstone, Montgomery, Princeton, Raritan, Readington, Rocky Hill, Somerville, South Brunswick, and Stockton.

Voter registration leans Democratic — it’s 32 percent “blue” and 25 percent “red.” While the unaffiliated voters tend to swing the results to the GOP, a Democrat won an upset two years ago and this is now a split district.

The 16th is currently represented by two Republicans, Sen. Christopher “Kip” Bateman of Neshanic Station and Assemblyman Jack Ciattarelli of Hillsborough, and Democratic Assemblyman Andrew Zwicker of Princeton. Ciattarelli is running for governor, so he is not on this ballot. Running with Zwicker is Roy Freiman of Hillsborough.

For the Republicans, Donna Simon, a Whitehouse Station woman who Zwicker beat two years ago, and Mark Caliguire of Skillman are on the Assembly ballot. Laurie Poppe of Hillsborough is the Democrat and Bateman is seeking re-election.