Legislative District 12

NJ Spotlight | May 7, 2017 | Elections 2017

The 12th District includes 14 communities in Burlington, Middlesex, Monmouth, and Ocean counties: Allentown, Chesterfield, Englishtown, Jackson, Manalapan, Matawan, Millstone, New Hanover, North Hanover, Old Bridge, Plumsted, Roosevelt, Upper Freehold, and Wrightstown.

Almost half of registered voters are unaffiliated, with the rest evenly split between Democrats and Republicans. But voters consistently choose Republican representation.

The current senator is Republican Samuel Thompson of Old Bridge and the assemblymen are Robert Clifton of Matawan and Ronald Dancer of New Egypt. All are seeking re-election.

Challenging Thompson is Art Haney of Matawan, for Senate. Three other Republicans filed for the Assembly slots: John Franklin Sheard of Jackson and, running as a team, Alex Robotin of Chesterfield and Eleanor Debbie Walker of Matawan.

Democrats have a full slate: David Lande of Millstone for Senate and Gene Davis of Jackson and Nirav Patel of Parlin for Assembly.