Voter Guide 2015: District 30

NJ Spotlight | October 14, 2015 | Elections 2015, Politics

District 30 encompasses 14 communities in Monmouth and Ocean counties: Avon-by-the-Sea, Belmar, Bradley Beach, Brielle, Farmingdale, Howell, Lake Como, Lakewood, Manasquan, Point Pleasant, Sea Girt, Spring Lake, Spring Lake Heights and Wall.

About 30 percent of registered voters are Republicans, while over 15 percent are Democrats, and most of the others are unaffiliated.

Both Republican incumbents live in Wall Township and both are seeking re-election: Assemblyman Sean Kean is an attorney and Assemblyman David P. Rible works in business development for a solar electricity company.

They have three challengers: Jim Keady of Spring Lake and Lorna Phillipson of Spring Lake Heights are on the Democratic ticket, and Hank Schroeder of Sea Girt is an independent running under the slogan “Economic Growth.”