Voter Guide 2015: District 28

NJ Spotlight | October 14, 2015 | Elections 2015, Politics

District 28 covers four Essex County communities — Bloomfield, Glen Ridge, Irvington and Nutley – and a portion of Newark.

Some 45 percent of registered voters in the district are Democrats, with only 7 percent Republican and most of the rest unaffiliated.

Both Democrats are seeking re-election. Assemblywoman Cleopatra Tucker, of Newark, was first elected in 2008. Assemblyman Ralph Caputo, of Bloomfield, also won election in 2008, but he served an earlier term in the Assembly from 1968 to 1972.

Their Republican challengers are Darnel C. Henry of Irvington and David H. Pinckney of Irvington.