Voter Guide 2015: District 26

NJ Spotlight | October 14, 2015 | Elections 2015, Politics

District 26 encompasses 13 communities in Essex, Morris and Passaic counties: Butler, Fairfield, Jefferson, Kinnelon, Lincoln Park, Montville, Morris Plains, North Caldwell, Parsippany, Rockaway Township, Verona, West Caldwell and West Milford.

It is a solidly “red” district, represented for decades by GOP legislators. Republicans account for 33 percent of registered voters; 21 percent are Democrats, and most of the rest are unaffiliated.

Both Republican Assembly members seeking re-election are from Parsippany: Jay Webber, a lawyer finishing his fourth term, and Betty Lou DeCroce, a realtor completing her second term.

On the Democratic ticket are Wayne B. Marek of Morris Plains and Avery Hart of Kinnelon. Green Party candidate Jimmy Brash of Parsippany is also on the ballot.