Voter Guide 2015: District 24

NJ Spotlight | October 14, 2015 | Elections 2015, Politics

The northernmost legislative district in the state, the 24th covers 36 communities in Morris, Sussex and Warren counties: Allamuchy, Andover Borough and Andover Township, Belvidere, Blairstown, Branchville, Byram, Frankford, Franklin (Warren), Fredon, Frelinghuysen, Green, Hamburg, Hampton, Hardwick, Hardyston, Hopatcong, Hope, Independence, Knowlton, Lafayette, Liberty, Montague, Mount Olive, Newton, Ogdensburg, Oxford, Sandyston, Sparta, Stanhope, Stillwater, Sussex, Vernon, Walpack, Wantage and White Township.

Among the “reddest” districts in the state, the 24th has 38 percent of its voters registered as Republicans, 17 percent as Democrats, and almost all of the rest unaffiliated.

The district is represented by Republicans. Only one of the incumbents is seeking re-election, as Assemblywoman Alison Littell McHose is retiring after a dozen years to work as administrator of Franklin. Assemblyman Parker Space, the owner of Space Farms Zoo and Museum, is running with Gail Phoebus of Lafayette.

Two Democrats — Michael F. Grace of Newton and Jacqueline Stapel of Augusta — are looking to unseat them. There is also one Green Party candidate on the ballot, Kenneth Collins of Newton.