Voter Guide 2015: District 19

NJ Spotlight | October 14, 2015 | Elections 2015, Politics

District 19 includes five communities in Middlesex County: Carteret, Perth Amboy, Sayreville, South Amboy, and Woodbridge.

This is a “blue” district — 38 percent of the voters are registered Democrats, 10 percent are Republicans, and most of the rest are unaffiliated.

Both Democrats are seeking re-election. Assemblyman John Wisniewski, a Sayreville attorney, is finishing his 10th term in the lower house. Assemblyman Craig Coughlin, also an attorney and former South Amboy councilman, was elected in 2010. On the Republican ticket are Thomas E. Maras of Fords and Reyes Ortega of Perth Amboy.