2015 Voter Guide: District 9

NJ Spotlight | May 26, 2015 | Elections 2015

The 9th District encompasses 24 communities in Atlantic, Burlington and Ocean counties: Barnegat, Barnegat Light, Bass River, Beach Haven, Beachwood, Berkeley, Eagleswood, Galloway, Harvey Cedars, Lacey, Little Egg Harbor, Long Beach, Ocean Gate, Ocean Township, Pine Beach, Port Republic, Seaside Park, Ship Bottom, South Toms River, Stafford, Surf City, Tabernacle, Tuckerton, and Washington.

Most voters have chosen not to register with one of the major parties. Of those who did, 28 percent are Republicans and 21 percent are Democrats.

This is one of only a handful of districts with contested primaries. Incumbent Republican Assembly members Brian P. Rumpf, a former mayor of Little Egg Harbor, and Dianne C. Gove, a former mayor of Long Beach, face opposition from Fredric R. Kociban of Little Egg Harbor and Howard Height of West Creek.

The Democrats running unopposed are Fran Zimmer of Little Egg Harbor and John Bingham of Beachwood.