2015 Voter Guide: District 34

NJ Spotlight | May 26, 2015 | Elections 2015

District 34 includes four communities in Essex and Passaic counties: Clifton, East Orange, Montclair, and Orange.
Democrats account for almost half of all registered voters. About 8 percent of voters are Republican; most of the rest have no party affiliation.

Both Democratic incumbents are seeking re-election. Assemblywoman Sheila Oliver, the former Assembly speaker who is finishing her 12th year in office, is a resident of East Orange and serves as assistant Essex County administrator. Assemblyman Thomas Giblin is a labor union officer who resides in Montclair and was first elected to the Assembly in 2005.

The Republicans seeking their party’s nomination are John M. Traier of Clifton and Louis A. Rodriguez of Clifton.