2015 Voter Guide: District 27

NJ Spotlight | May 26, 2015 | Elections 2015

District 27 encompasses 14 communities in Essex and Morris counties: Caldwell, Chatham Township, East Hanover, Essex Fells, Florham Park, Hanover, Harding, Livingston, Madison, Maplewood, Millburn, Roseland, South Orange and West Orange.

The district swings “blue,” with 36 of those registered Democrats, 21 percent Republicans, and most of the rest unaffiliated.

Both Democrats representing the 27th in Trenton are seeking re-election. Assemblyman John McKeon, of West Orange, is an attorney who joined the lower house in 2002. Assemblywoman Mila Jasey, of South Orange, is a former member of the South-Orange-Maplewood Board of Education who is in her ninth term in the Assembly.

Two Republicans are running unopposed for their party’s nods: Tayfun Selen of Chatham and Wonkyu “Q” Rim of Whippany.