2015 Voter Guide: District 24

NJ Spotlight | May 26, 2015 | Elections 2015

The northernmost legislative district in the state, the 24th covers 36 communities in Morris, Sussex and Warren counties: Allamuchy, Andover Borough and Andover Township, Belvidere, Blairstown, Branchville, Byram, Frankford, Franklin (Warren), Fredon, Frelinghuysen, Green, Hamburg, Hampton, Hardwick, Hardyston, Hopatcong, Hope, Independence, Knowlton, Lafayette, Liberty, Montague, Mount Olive, Newton, Ogdensburg, Oxford, Sandyston, Sparta, Stanhope, Stillwater, Sussex, Vernon, Walpack, Wantage and White Township.

Among the “reddest” districts in the state, the 24th has 38 percent of its voters registered as Republicans, 17 percent as Democrats; almost all of the rest are unaffiliated.

The district is represented by Republicans. Only one of the incumbents is seeking re-election, as Assemblywoman Alison Littell McHose is retiring after a dozen years to work as administrator of Franklin. Assemblyman Parker Space, the owner of Space Farms Zoo and Museum, is running with Gail Phoebus. McHose’s retirement has drawn other Republicans into the race: Nathan C. Orr of Branchville and Marie S. Bilik of Andover are also on the ballot.

Two Democrats — Michael F. Grace of Newton and Jacqueline Stapel of Augusta — are unopposed on their party’s primary ballot.