2015 Voter Guide: District 19

NJ Spotlight | May 26, 2015 | Elections 2015

District 19 includes five communities in Middlesex County: Carteret, Perth Amboy, Sayreville, South Amboy, and Woodbridge.

This is a “blue” district — 38 percent of the voters are registered Democrats, 10 percent are Republicans, and most of the rest are unaffiliated.

Both Democrats are seeking re-election. Assemblyman John Wisniewski, a Sayreville attorney, is finishing his 10th term in the lower house. Assemblyman Craig Coughlin, also an attorney and former South Amboy councilman, was elected in 2010.

On the Republican side, Thomas E. Maras of Fords and Reyes Ortega of Perth Amboy are unopposed.