2013 Voter Guide: District 7

NJ Spotlight | October 22, 2013 | Elections 2013
Incumbent GOP senator, incumbent Democratic assemblymen face challengers in Burlington County

district 7
The 7th District encompasses 17 communities in Burlington County: Beverly, Bordentown, Bordentown Township, Burlington, Burlington Township, Cinnaminson, Delanco, Delran, Edgewater Park, Fieldsboro, Florence, Moorestown, Mount Laurel, Palmyra, Riverside, Riverton and Willingboro.

Voter registration is 38 percent Democrat and 20 percent Republican, with most of the rest unaffiliated. Despite the apparent Democratic leaning, this district is one of only two districts in the state with representation split between the two major parties.

The incumbent senator seeking re-election is a Republican, Sen. Diane Allen, of Edgewater Park, first elected in 1998. Allen is the president of Vidcomm Inc. and has served on the NJ Human Relations Council for a decade. Running with her and trying to unseat the Democratic incumbent assemblymen are Republicans Jeff Banasz, an insurance broker who also serves on the Moorestown Board of Adjustment, and Anthony Ogozalek, also of Moorestown.

Both Democratic Assemblymen — Herb Conaway, of Delanco, and Troy Singleton, of Palmyra, — are running for re-election. Conaway, first elected in 1998, is a physician who previously served in the Air Force Medical Corps. Singleton, finishing his first term, serves as the treasurer of the Northeast Regional Council of Carpenters. Running with them to try to unseat Allen is Democrat Gary Catrambone, of Delran.

For more about the candidates, visit their websites:

[link:http://allen.senatenj.com/Diane Allen]

Herb Conaway

Troy Singleton

Gary Catrambrone

Anthony Ogozalek

Jeff Banasz