2013 Voter Guide: District 40

NJ Spotlight | October 22, 2013 | Elections 2013
Democrats seek to oust GOP incumbents in district encompassing sections of four counties

District 40
District 40 includes 15 communities in Bergen, Essex, Morris and Passaic counties: Allendale, Cedar Grove, Franklin Lakes, Ho-Ho-Kus, Little Falls, Midland Park, Pequannock, Pompton Lakes, Ridgewood, Riverdale, Totowa, Waldwick, Wayne, Woodland Park and Wyckoff.

Voter registration is 23 percent Democrat and 31 percent Republican, with most other district voters unaffiliated.

On the ballot are three Republican incumbents: Sen. Kevin O’Toole, and Assemblymen Scott Rumana and David Russo. O’Toole, of Cedar Grove, is an attorney who was first elected to the Assembly in 1998. Rumana, an attorney from Wayne, has been an Assemnblyman since 2008 and also served as the mayor of Wayne for five years. Russo, an attorney who resides in Ridgewood, has served in the lower house since 1990.

Challenging O’Toole for the Senate seat is Democrat William Ashley of Ho-Ho-Kus. The Democratic Assembly challengers are Anthony Galietti of Woodland Park, who serves as the chief of police in that town, and Leo Arcuri, a small-business owner who resides in Wayne.

For more about the candidates, visit their websites:

Kevin O’Toole

Scott Rumana

David Russo

Anthony Galietti

Leo Arcuri