2013 Voter Guide: District 15

NJ Spotlight | October 22, 2013 | Elections 2013
Incumbents seek re-election in heavily Democratic district surrounding and including Trenton

district 15
District 15 is made up of 10 communities in Hunterdon and Mercer counties: East Amwell, Ewing, Hopewell Borough, Hopewell Township, Lambertville, Lawrence, Pennington, Trenton, West Amwell and West Windsor.

Voter registration is 40 percent Democrat and 14 percent Republican; most other district voters are unaffiliated.

Running for re-election are three Democrats. For the Senate seat, running is Sen. Shirley Turner, a teacher from Lawrenceville who was elected in 1993. Assemblyman Reed Gusciora, a Trenton resident and attorney elected to the Assembly in 1996, and Assemblywoman Bonnie Watson-Coleman of Trenton, who has served on the Assembly since 1998 and has been the chairwoman of the N.J. Democratic State Committee, both seek re-election.

Challenging the incumbents are Republican Donald Cox of Ewing. Cseeking he Senate seat, who works as a financial adviser and previously served on the Ewing Township Council. Republicans Kim Taylor of Lawrenceville and Anthony Giordano, current chairman of the Trenton Zoning Board, are running against Gusciora and Watson-Coleman.

For more about the candidates, visit their websites:

Shirley Turner

Reed Gusciora

Bonnie Watson-Coleman

Kim Taylor

Anthony Giordano