Number of the Day: 16

September 20, 2012 | Number of The Day

New Jersey is one of 16 states still studying its options regarding the creation of a health insurance exchange mandated by the Affordable Care Act, according to, a website provided by the Henry J. Kaiser Foundation. Others include Pennsylvania, Virginia, Michigan, Minnesota, and Arizona.

States have until November 15 to inform the federal government whether they will create their own exchange or have the federal government create one for them.

Sixteen states have also decided to create their own exchanges. They include California, New York, Massachusetts, Maryland, Connecticut, and Washington, among others. Three others, Delaware, Illinois, and Arkansas, have decided to create an exchange in partnership with the federal government.

Seven states, including Texas, Florida, Alaska, and Louisiana have announced they will not create a state exchange, and nine others have not demonstrated any significant activity.