Number of the Day: 14

September 16, 2011 | Number of The Day

The federal Department of Education has named 14 New Jersey schools as 2011 “National Blue Ribbon Schools.” The designation, which is awarded through an application process, is based on overall academic excellence or success in closing achievement gaps. Nationally, there were 305 awards given this year.

Half of this year’s New Jersey winners are parochial schools and all of them are in the northern or central part of the state. The winners are: Holy Trinity Interparochial School, Westfield; Lincoln Elementary School, Ridgefield Park; New Providence High School, Providence; Our Lady of Mercy Academy, Park Ridge; Our Lady of the Lake School, Verona; Rumson-Fair Haven Regional High School, Rumson; St. Elizabeth School, Wyckoff; St. John’s Academy, Hillsdale; St. John the Apostle School, Clark; St. Joseph School, Oradell; Terence C. Reilly School No. 7, Elizabeth; Tewksbury Elementary School, Califon; Thomas Jefferson Elementary School, Hawthorne; and Watchung School, Montclair.